50/50

I was pretty angry when I saw the preview on TV for the movie 50/50. Having been recently diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and starting off chemo, I wasn’t too happy that there was a movie about a cancer patient who uses his illness to pick up girls. That’s exactly what the preview portrayed and I came to the theater expecting to hate it.

I have to say I actually enjoyed the movie, it wasn’t the most accurate recreation of someone going through cancer in their 20’s but it did show how it effects you as the patient and your parents, friends, loved ones, significant others, etc…

I don’t want to give any of the movie away but I did laugh and it wasn’t really focused on exploiting cancer to get girls. I would recommend it…I even got a little choked up towards the end!

 

In other news, I was on neupogen shots for the second time during the past week and as expected my spine hurt like hell. This time I was well prepared with plenty of meds to get rid of the pain and it went by not so bad.

My hair is no longer falling out. My 6th treatment is coming up and my hair is actually starting to grow back! It’s not as dark but it’s something to look forward to.

My doctor will let us know my fate on Friday regarding whether or not I have to do 4 or 6 cycles of chemo so I am getting a little anxious about that. More to come in the following days…

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

